“I didn’t realise I was looking for something like this until I saw it”

42 The Network
3 min readMar 27, 2023

--

Ramiro Mansutti, Communications Officer at 42 Urduliz, shares his insights about his unique position and how 42 turned out to be the opportunity of a lifetime for him.

What do you like the most about your position?

For me, the emotional factor is what I value most in my position. It’s incredible to witness the transformation that candidates go through during their 26-day journey, as they become a close-knit family. I’m always moved by the tears and emotions that arise when they leave the program. Witnessing how the program can change people’s lives is what I love most about my position.

What were you doing before 42?

I’ve lived the life of a nomad for most of my years. I’m originally from Argentina, but I have been traveling for many years, living in different parts of the world such as Australia, Italy, and now, Spain. As a freelancer in communications, I have worked with clients from all over the world, including the US, Latin America, and Europe, for more than 10 years. In March 2022, I came across a LinkedIn Job Post that caught my eye, even though I wasn’t actively looking for a job. It was an opportunity with 42, and when I read about the history of 42 in Paris and in Spain, it was like a revelation. I didn’t realize I was looking for something like this until I saw it, and I knew I had to be a part of it.

What drove you to 42?

I’ve always worked in communications, but 42 allows me to unite all my passions in a way no other working environment I’ve experienced in the past has, for different reasons. In the first place, I get the chance to implement all the things that I’ve learned during my entire career as a communicator. Secondly, as a traveler and nomad, I find that the diversity at 42 is one of its main values. I especially love the exchange with people who come from different backgrounds, cultures, countries, and who speak different languages. This is very important to me because this is how I thrive as a communicator, and grow as a human being.

What do you hope for in the future of education?

I believe that the future of education should look more like what we are doing at 42. To be honest, when I first heard about 42’s methodology, I thought it was all bluff. It seemed impossible to have a successful teaching and learning approach that completely disregards traditional methods. However, as I began working here and saw how students developed their skills through peer-to-peer collaboration, I realised that it was truly innovative and that it could be the future of education. While I understand that this methodology may not be suitable for all disciplines, I believe that implementing peer-to-peer collaboration and promoting self-motivation and autonomy in learning can greatly improve education in the future.

What is the 42 value you are most attached to?

For me, diversity is the most important value, and I believe that 42 embodies this value, especially here in Spain. I have personally witnessed individuals with limited economic resources or no previous studies, and even those going through difficult personal situations, join 42 and learn to code while also finding a supportive community. The fact that it’s a free program only adds to its ability to attract and include people from different backgrounds. In 42 Urduliz, we have individuals from all around the world, and I think it’s truly remarkable to have a place where people from diverse backgrounds can come together and have equal opportunities. It’s not very common to find such inclusive places, and I’m proud to be part of an organisation that values and promotes diversity.

--

--

42 The Network

We make digital an opportunity for all, everywhere. #42Network.